Seeing God’s Faithfulness

This morning I was immediately caught up in a wave of emotion, an extremely grateful emotion. Pastor Hilton started calling out people and how their lives had been changed because of our faithful God. Someone who’d lost a child, someone who’d been caught up in the bondage of drugs and bad choices. I looked in front of me and saw a friend who is battling the loss of what would have been the birth of her son this week. And then it quickly became personal.

Had I not been invited to the Journey, what would my life look like now, almost 5 years later? I could name a few things that would have continued to paint the picture. Depression, loneliness, zero sense of belonging, no direction, questioning if there even is a God, wondering if true happiness exists and a lot more searching.

My life since that day started to flash in front of my eyes, pushing the tears along. Blessings upon blessings, grace upon grace. Next to me, on one side my sister, mother and father-in-law and on the other my son and husband – GRACE. Tangible FAITHFULNESS. Not mine, but God’s.

Our vision at the Journey is “everyone helping someone take steps of faith to follow Jesus Christ” and I am a firm believer. I have seen lives changed first hand, I have felt the effects of my own life being changed because of those who helped me take steps to follow Jesus. I have found that true happiness does exist (and it isn’t in a list of rules), God is a hundred percent real (and still doing miracles!), depression can be defeated, and I have a place in and a story to share with the world!

I love seeing God’s faithfulness full circle and the way he works behind the scenes. In my life, it looks like three awesome dudes, an incredibly supportive family-in-law and the steadfast, longsuffering, love of my own parents. Like redemption, hope, and joy!

Thank you for reading and stay tuned for the rest of my journey in finding TRUE JOY and SATISFACTION. 

Leave a comment